ScriptBlock - Elevate or runAs different user [Help]

by Wayfinder at 2013-04-25 19:23:01

Hi everyone,

I’m quite new to Powershell (New memebr as of today to this forum). I have performed a search for what I think the termonology is but have not been successful.

Is it possible to invoke a command to runas different user and or elevated permissions with UAC within side the script without calling external scripts or running the script with credentials from command line?

Some scrappy code I have been working on: (warning noobness code inbound)

[code2=powershell]$creds = New-Object Management.Automation.PSCredential("$UserName", $securePassword)
invoke-command -Credential $creds -ScriptBlock
{
New-Item -ItemType directory -Path "C:\TestArea"
}[/code2]

I want to eventually convert a script to an executable with a GUI so I’m just starting off with the basics.

Thank you for your help :slight_smile:
by DonJ at 2013-04-26 07:06:57
Yes, Invoke-Command can do that, exactly as you’ve put here. You can also use -FilePath instead of -ScriptBlock to execute a file.
by mjolinor at 2013-04-26 08:14:00
If it’s something relatively trivial (like create directory) that requires elevated permissions, you can use Start-Process with the ‘RunAs’ verb without needing to spawn a whole new instance of Powershell:

$Directory = 'c:\TestArea'

If (-not (test-path $Directory))
{

$cmds = @"
/C md $Directory
icacls $Directory /grant Users:(RD,WD)
"@
$ProcessParams = @{
FilePath = 'cmd.exe'
Verb = 'RunAs'
ArgumentList = $($cmds -replace "\n","&&")
}
Start-Process @ProcessParams
}
by Wayfinder at 2013-04-29 01:25:00
Hi DonJ,

Thanks for your response but the actual command I posted doesn’t work. I have tried with addtional arguments -ComputerName etc but no success magic :slight_smile: .

Exceptions thrown:
Invoke-Command : Missing an argument for parameter ‘ScriptBlock’. Specify a parameter of type ‘System.Management.Automation.ScriptBlock’ and try again.