Report list of ADUsers NOT in Security Groups

Hi,

HeadsUP I am new to this! :slight_smile:

I have been asked to write a script that can get all of our AD Users not currently in a Security Group. My issue being there are 9 Security groups numbering from 1-9.

I need the Script to check all 9 groups and if the AD user is NOT found in any of the groups export them into a report.

Import-Module activedirectory
$group = get-adgroup "Webpolicy1"
get-aduser -Properties * -filter 'enabled -eq $true' | Where-Object {$group.DistinguishedName -notin $_.memberof} |select name,samaccountname,emailaddress

As you can see, this is not checking all 9 groups but Iā€™m finding my self stuck on filtering out the users NOT in 1 or the 9 groups!

Any help is appreciated.

Hi Nay,

Here you are:

1. Dumb way:
    for ($i = 1; $i -lt 10; $i++) {
    $groupName = Get-Adgroup ā€œWebpolicy$iā€
    Get-ADUser -Properties * -Filter ā€˜enabled -eq $trueā€™ |
    Where $groupName.DistinguishedName -notin $_.memberof |
    select name, samaccountname, emailaddress
    }

2. A bit smarter:

$securtyGroups = @()
for ($i = 1; $i -lt 10; $i++) {
$securtyGroups.Add((Get-Adgroup ā€œWebpolicy$iā€))
}

Get-ADUser -Properties * -Filter ā€˜enabled -eq $trueā€™ |
ForEach-Object {
$currentUser = $_
foreach ($securityGroup in $securityGrous) {
if ($securityGroup.DistinguishedName -notin $currentUser.memberof) {
$currentUser | select name, samaccountname,emailaddress
}
}
}

Hopefully you got the idea. I do not have a chance to test it, though.

Hi Evgeny,

Thank you for your fast response on this.

However I am receiving the following error:

Exception calling ā€œAddā€ with ā€œ1ā€ argument(s): ā€œCollection was of a fixed size.ā€
At line:4 char:2

• $securityGroups.Add((Get-Adgroup ā€œWebpolicy$iā€))
  •  + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [], MethodInvocationException
     + FullyQualifiedErrorId : NotSupportedException</strong>

Hi