Query AD and archive machines

I’m a newbie with PS and know very little about it. Â Can anyone provide me a script that does the following. Â Read an OU and all sub-OU’s and find all workstations that have not checked into AD for 60 days and then move those workstations to an archive OU?

You’ll have more success getting the results you are after if you do some of the initial work yourself. There are a ton of scripts out there on forums and blogs now. Break down your work into tasks, and then try to find pieces that accomplish each of the tasks.

For example, you want to find workstations (also known as computers) in AD. There is a Get-ADComputer cmdlet (see here). Example #4 in that documentation shows you how to search from a specific OU. That’s your first step done already.

Next up is to identify computers that have not “checked into AD” for 60 days. How would you describe that in terms of an LDAP search in AD? What properties identify whether a computer has “checked into AD” or not? Once you identify those, figure out if you can use them in the -Filter parameter for Get-ADComputer or not. If not, then you could use Where-Object to filter on the client.

Once you have the computers you want, moving them is relatively easy as well. There is a Move-ADObject cmdlet for that (see here).

See how far you can get with those pointers, then come back with your script in progress with specific questions and you’ll be in a much better position to get the help you need.

Yes, thanks, I have been trying. Â I have this code here:

$COMPAREDATE=GET-DATE

$NumberDays=90

$CSVFileLocation=‘C:\TEMP\OldComps.CSV’

GET-QADCOMPUTER -SizeLimit 0 -IncludedProperties LastLogonTimeStamp |

where { ($CompareDate-$_.LastLogonTimeStamp).Days -gt $NumberDays } |

Select-Object Name, LastLogonTimeStamp, OSName, ParentContainerDN |

Sort-Object ModificationDate, Name | Export-CSV $CSVFileLocation

This works.