PS v7 and return type (Json vs not Json) for various cmdlets like Get-Group, Get-DistributionGroup

I’m new to PS and using PS v7. When I execute Get-Group, Get-DistributionGroup, etc, I get a failure from ConvertFrom-Json that indicates that somewhere in the called cmdlet that JSON was expected, but not actually encountered. Does this indicate that I haven’t appropriately configured the PS environment for these cmdlets? Ex from Get-Group: ConvertFrom-Json: Conversion from JSON failed with error: Unexpected character encountered while parsing value: U. Path ‘’, line 0, position 0.

twtuck,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t3:

Since we cannot see your screen or cannot read your mind you have to help us helping you. :wink: Please share the code you used and the complete error message you get - bot formatted as code please.

When you post code, sample data, console output or error messages please format it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ). Simply place your cursor on an empty line, click the button and paste your code.

Thanks in advance

How to format code in PowerShell.org 1 <---- Click :point_up_2:t4: :wink:

1 Like
Get-Group

ConvertFrom-Json: Conversion from JSON failed with error: Unexpected character encountered while parsing value: U. Path ‘’, line 0, position 0.

You haven’t explained nearly enough. Is this exchange online? If so, what version of the exchangeonlinemanagement module are you using? It sounds like you may have a custom Get-Group function, because no where in the cmdlet Get-Group should there be any json conversion. Here is the definition of Get-Group

Get-Command Get-Group | Foreach-Object Definition

[CmdletBinding(DefaultParameterSetName='Identity')]
    param(

[Parameter(ParameterSetName='AnrSet')]
    [ValidateLength(3, 5120)]
    [string]
    ${Anr},

[ValidateNotNullOrEmpty()]
    [string]
    ${Filter},

[Parameter(ParameterSetName='Identity', Position=0, ValueFromPipeline=$true, ValueFromPipelineByPropertyName=$true)]