Problems with Parameters

Hello everyone,

I’m new to PowerShell and am working on my first function. I’ve been having a hard time puzzling out why I can’t properly specify a second parameter here when I try to run my function.

First off, here is the code. Like I said, this is a learning exercise, so it is very basic. Also, while testing I commented out the “Remove-Item” command.

function remove-oldfiles {
   [CmdletBinding()]   
   param(
       [parameter(Manadatory=$true,Position=0)] 
       [string]$path

[parameter(Manadatory=$true,Position=1)]
       [int]$days,
   )

Get-ChildItem –Path $path -Recurse | Where-Object {($_.LastWriteTime -lt (Get-Date).AddDays(-$days))} #| Remove-Item

}

After I import the module and then run it, I’m getting the following behavior.

PS C:\users\swhite\Documents\WindowsPowerShell> remove-oldfiles "c:\test1" 30
remove-oldfiles : A positional parameter cannot be found that accepts argument '30'.
At line:1 char:1
+ remove-oldfiles "c:\test1" 30
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: (:) [remove-oldfiles], ParameterBindingException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PositionalParameterNotFound,remove-oldfiles

Also, something that is very odd to me is that although I specified the property of Mandatory=$true, the second parameter isn’t being required. I know this because if I run with just a path the function works.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Commas.

[string]$path,

[int]$days

That’s what I get for moving things around while troubleshooting. I mixed up the placement of that comma.

Pasting my code into here did point out that I had the work “mandatory” spelled incorrectly. (corrected below)

I have script with the comma in the correct place is still fails.

[CmdletBinding()]   
   param(
       [parameter(Mandatory=$true,Position=0)] 
       [string]$path,

[parameter(Mandatory=$true,Position=1)]
       [int]$days
   )