Problem ftp files in a fold with space in it's name.

Hello,

I’m new to PowerShell so forgive me for what others may find a simple question. I need to create a process to get various files from an external ftp site and I would like to use a PowerShell script to do the job. I have tried various sample codes but all have failed because the server actually has folders with spaces in the name (e.g. My File is Here) So the mapping would look like this: ftp://ftp.servername.com/ClientsFiles/ProgramsNotes/myVIEW/My File is Here/hereItIs.txt

Could someone help me address the problem with the name space problem? Thank you in advanced.

Cheers

No need to apologize, we all started somewhere!

You typically would URL escape a space, which would be like “Program%20Files”. But it depends an awful lot on exactly what you’re using to accomplish FTP. PowerShell doesn’t have a built-in FTP client, so whatever you’re using would dictate how to escape the filename. For example, if you’re just invoking an ftp:// URL, then Windows will launch your default client (likely IE), and it’d usually escape the URL for you.

Hi Don,

Thanks for the responds. I am actually look to set up a windows schedule task and have files copied from a third party ftp server to our server so we can then load the data into the database. Is this doable with PowerShell scripting?

I understand the use of “%20” and I had tried that in various ways went referencing the ftp url but it failed each time.

Regards

PowerShell does not include a native ability to talk to an FTP server. There might be something FTP-related in the underlying .NET Framework you could use (I’m not sure).

In the past I’ve done this by scripting the native Windows FTP command-line client. You could launch that from within PowerShell, but do so just as easily from Cmd.exe or Task Scheduler. It’s not a PowerShell-specific feature.