PowerShell's ability to gather installed software on remote systems

I am fairly new to all CLI’s. I have messed around in Linux, DOS, and would not consider myself very good in either. Then I became interested in PowerShell, and I am hooked. I always wanted to be able to use a CLI, and a scripting language and I decided that PowerShell will be my target. Anyway, on to the question I have.

I have used the win32_product call against remote machines and it works very well, but the other day the boss ask me to run a product query and looking for “Mozilla Firefox”. The wmi-object did not find “Mozilla” at all. That stuck me a very strange. I then read that the better way to find all software for sure is through the registry. My problem is trying to build a script that will use the registry and can be run against remote machines from a text file. I am new, so I read and dismantle already written scripts to see what makes them run, I learn really well like that. So if someone could provide some pointers, I really would appreciate them, thanks and from a retired soldier, SALUTE!

You will want to create your basic query using either win32_product or the registry as you specified. There is also a great recent article about this (“http://blogs.technet.com/b/heyscriptingguy/archive/2013/11/15/use-powershell-to-find-installed-software.aspx”).

Once you have the basic query complete, you would get the list of machines from your text file and pipe them into the query:

Get-Content ‘c:\computerlist.txt’ | ForEach-Object { Get-WMIObject -ComputerName $_ -Query “SELECT * FROM win32_product WHERE name LIKE ‘%firefox%’” | Select-Object -Property $_,Name,InstallLocation,InstallDate | Export-CSV ‘c:\computerqueryresults.csv’