Powershell String operation

Hi,

I’m in a tricky situation to analyze a text output. My requirement is search a string and get a lines between them. For example, the following lines in a text file

Filename1.log
Data1
Data2
Data3
Filename2.log
Data4
Data5
Data6
Data7
Filename3.log
Data8
Data9
Data10

it goes several files as the output varies

output I expect
Filename1.log has 3 lines
Filename2.log has 4 lines
Filename3.log has 3 lines

Please let me know if anyone can provide help, couldn’t get through surfing

Charles,
welcome to the forums.

What have you tried so far? Please show your code and explain what is not working as expected or where you’ve got stuck. Include error messages if there are some.

Hi Olaf, thanks for getting back

I’ve got some knowledge in Powershell. I actually tried various method but something with regex gives little bit But it can give result for two matches matches and not sure a loop possible here, but I think we can achieve through StreamReader readline and filter by particular string?, I dont know how to do and not much help from internet

$File = Get-Content .\log.txt
$pat = "(?:[\w]\:)(\\[a-z_A-Z\-\s0-9\.]+)+\.log"
$repeat = Select-String .\logger.txt -pattern "(?:[\w]\:)(\\[a-z_A-Z\-\s0-9\.]+)+\.log" 
for ($i=0; $i -lt $repeat.Count;  $i++) {
        $patt = "$pat(.*?)$pat"
        $d = [regex]::Match($File,$patt).groups[2].value
        $f = Select-String -InputObject $d -pattern "sc-status=200"
        Write-host "The Number of Errors in the File $($e.matches[$i]) : $(($f -split('Sc-status=200')).Count-1)"
}

I hoped that would help me understand what you’re actually trying to do but it didn’t actually. :wink: :smiley:
Could you please describe in simple terms what you actually want to do?

I understood that you try to count the occurences of a particular pattern in some files. Is that right? :thinking:

Yes, need a occurrences of particular pattern but all the content in one file. so I need explore a file to pull the details.