Powershell script to remotely start services across a domain and email on failur

Hey guys, I’m still learning powershell and I’m working on developing a slightly more advanced script than what I’m used to working with, could use some help.

Basically this script needs to scan all servers on a domain for any “automatic” services that are in a “stopped” state, attempt to start them, and return an error code which will then be emailed to a case creation queue if the service fails to start. I have the following so far (No email config included, I can always add that later). Ideally I would also like to add an exclusion list that will skip over services with specific names (like the software protection service).

So far, this script seems to pull the CSV correctly, try is working correctly, and it successfully cycles through each server, ultimately presenting the following output:

Updated Server list has been pulled from AD and sent to C:\Patching\ObjectList.csv
Press Enter to continue…:
Attempting to start the Print Spooler service on ASHDC01
Successfully started ‘Print Spooler’ on ASHDC01
Attempting to start the Software Protection service on ASHDC01
Set-Service : Service ‘Software Protection (sppsvc)’ cannot be configured due to the following error: Access is denied
At C:\Users\jesse\Desktop\ServiceCheck.ps1:58 char:84

• … e $Name.name | Set-Service -Status Running
  •                ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• CategoryInfo : PermissionDenied: (System.ServiceProcess.ServiceController:ServiceController) [Set-Service], ServiceCommandException
    • FullyQualifiedErrorId : CouldNotSetService,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetServiceCommand

Successfully started ‘Software Protection’ on ASHDC01
Attempting to start the Software Protection service on ASHVC01
Set-Service : Service ‘Software Protection (sppsvc)’ cannot be configured due to the following error: Access is denied
At C:\Users\jesse\Desktop\ServiceCheck.ps1:58 char:84