Powershell script - get AD -Propeties * based on either username OR e-mail address

Hello guys. I am new to PowerShell. I am trying to create a script that gets a CVS file with an emails list and a Username list, then obtain the properties emailaddress, title | select name,emailaddress, title

Do you think this will work like that, See below :

Thank you

Get-Content -Path C:\psscripts\somefilename.txt | ForEach-Object {

$UserDN = $null
$TargetOU = $Null
$Server= $null

If ($.UserName) {
# Username has a value
$UserDNxxx = (Get-ADUser - Server xxx -identity $
.UserName ) -properties *

} elseif ($.Email) {
# Email has a value
$UserDNxxx = (Get-ADUser -Server xxx -Filter {mail -eq $
.Email}).-properties *
} else {
# It doesn’t have either, so throw an error if you want
}

} | Export-csv -Path c:\psscripts\Adoutput.csv -NoTypeInformation

Best regards,

Edward

edward,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

Hmmm … why don’t you try it? :man_shrugging:t4:

Since you’re only using Get cmdlets it is nearly impossible to break something. :wink: And by running your code in the ISE oder in VSCode line by line you check each individual line or script block if it works or not. :+1:t4: That’s how we all do it - it’s called developing or debugging. :wink:

Regardless of that: When you carefully review your own question here you will notice that the forum software messed up your code a little bit. :point_up_2:t4:

Please … When you post code, sample data, console output or error messages format it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ). Simply place your cursor on an empty line, click the button and paste your code.

Thanks in advance

How to format code in PowerShell.org <---- Click :point_up_2:t4: :wink:

Hello olaf

I know that but can you tell if the code looks correctly for you so far ? I don’t have PowerShell yet installed