powershell remoting question

hello I am a newbie with power shell and am looking for guidance on remoting. I am looking to delete a folder that exist on a few machines on my network. This is the command im looking to execute “icm -ComputerName (Get-ADComputer -Filter * | where name -Like a* | select name | ft -HideTableHeaders) {Remove-Item C:\Windows\Sun\Java}”

basically all the workstations that have a java issue begin with the letter “A” and I want to delete a folder that every machine has in the directory. I was wondering if I was headed in the right direction or is there an easier way ? The get-ADComputer cmdlet does return everything I want so as far as the results go I am satisfied.

Thanks for your time and knowledge

As an initial suggestion, consider using the -Filter parameter of Get-ADComputer. Right now you’re getting ALL domain computers… except that the domain will only return about 1,000 max. Something like “Get-ADComputer -Filter { Name -like a* }” might be what you’re after, and then you can eliminate that hideously-inefficient Where-Object call :).

You’re vaguely headed in the right direction. But you’re formatting the information, which ruins it for any other use. The output of a Format command is completely unusable as data. I know you think you’re producing a text list of names, but that’s not what’s happening under the hood (check out “Learn Windows PowerShell 3 in a Month of Lunches;” this business with the Format cmdlets is a major gotcha for newcomers, and there’s a whole chapter on it).

(Get-ADComputer -Filter { Name -like a* } | Select -Expand Name)