Powershell New Guy Query

Hi guys,

I’m new to PS and still trying to figure out what is and isn’t possible and how to go about getting my ideas down in code!

I have a simple question that I can’t figure out…

I have a variable with multiple values, say

$Keys = @(
"ServiceType"
"ServiceStatus"
"SupportStatus"
"BackupService"
"Division"
"Department"
)

Now I want to perform a select-object command but using the values from $Keys as the objects I wish to select

So…

$variable | select-object name, fullname, $keys

I know the above code is incorrect but just to give you an idea of what I’m trying to do.

Any help is appreciated.

Many thanks,
Callum

@() = array

@{} = hash

I would recommend picking up a book to understand some of the fundamentals in Powershell. Information in Powershell is typically contained in a PSObject. When you run a Powershell cmdlet, they typically will return a PSObject.

You have standard arrays created with parenthesis:

$array = @("Red", "Green", "Blue")

foreach ($color in $array) {
    $color
}

Then you have hash tables, which is what you are referencing in your post created with curly brackets:

# This is a hash, or if your coming from VBScript, a dictionary object
$hash = @{FName="Jim";LName="Smith"}

$hash.GetEnumerator() | foreach{
    $_.Name # a.k.a Key
    $_.Value
}

Lastly, a PSObject is a combination of an array and hashtable:

$myPSObject = @() #an empty array
#append a new item into the array using the hash above
$myPSObject += New-Object -TypeName PSObject -Property $hash
#append a new item into the array manually
$myPSObject += New-Object -TypeName PSObject -Property @{FName="Julie";LName="Johnson"}

$myPSObject | Select FName

There are many ways to create PSObjects, but in the end they are an array of hash tables. If you need further assistance, it would help to understand what you are trying to accomplish so that we can make a suggestion on which of this methods you should use.

Hi guys,