Powershell 3.0 Remoting

If I am connected to a system [Enter-PSSession -ComputerName <name>] and I run a certain command I get an WARNING saying “WARNING: You haven’t privileges to make this. Try start an elevated Windows Powershell console.” I am a domain admin and my domain account is in the local admin group on the computer. Is there a way to run commands in an elevated console?

What command are you running? That warning doesn’t look like anything I’d expect to see from a command Microsoft provides. It’s possible that there’s a problem in a script or function, and the error message is somewhat misleading.

If you’re using a domain account, UAC (elevation) isn’t a factor for remote connections. If you were authenticating as a local account on the remote computer, then there is a setting to filter out the Administrators group membership, which is on by default and might be a factor. (see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/942817)

I am running one of the commands in the PSWindowsUpdate module. To be more specific I am trying to hide particular updates.

Please be more specific; which command, and what parameters did you pass it?

I have connected to the remote machine “C1243-01” from my workstation using the following command:
Enter-PSSession -ComputerName c1243-01

Hide-WUUpdate -Title “*Language Pack”

Confirm
Are you sure you want to perform this action?
Performing operation “Hide Latvian Language Pack - Windows 7 Service Pack 1 for x64-based Systems (KB2483139)?” on Target “C1243-01”.
[Y] Yes [A] Yes to All [N] No [L] No to All [?] Help (default is “Y”): a
WARNING: You haven’t privileges to make this. Try start an eleated Windows PowerShell console.
parsing “*Language Pack” - Quantifier {x,y} following nothing.
At C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\pswindowsupdate\Hide-WUUpdate.ps1:455 char:10

•                     If($Update.Title -notmatch $Title)

•                        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~