Power shell Workflow Parameters

Hello all,

I am still new to power shell as hoping anyone could kindly assist please.

Basically I am trying to use a workflow and trying to pass arguments into the workflow as parameters. These workflow parameters will then be used as variables.

I have been reading up but can’t seem to find something out there that would match my scenario.

So as a test, I am using the below workflow example like this:

Worflow.ps1

workflow example {

param (
   [string]$variable1,
   [string]$variable2
)

InlineScript { Write-Host $variable1 $variable2 }

}

# Call the workflow function
example

Note: this is just to test if I can pass an argument from command line into the workflow like so:

./Workflow.ps1 arg1 arg2

Hope this makes sense and looking forward to hearing from anyone soon. Again I would definitely appreciate your help. Many thanks.

Hi Linux-Pingu. What is your question? Are you having issues passing in those arguments? Is it not working?

Your example call shows passing the arguments to the .ps1 file. If that’s how you want to pass in arguments, to the actual PS1 file, then you’ll need to pass those on again to any function/workflow. Also, the inline script is ran in a different powershell scope. It’s equivalent to running a remote PS command. You can reference the calling scope’s variables with the using modifier. Test this example out and see what I mean.

param (
   [string]$scriptvariable1,
   [string]$scriptvariable2
)

Write-Host These arguments were passed into the script $scriptvariable1 $scriptvariable1 -ForeGroundColor Cyan

workflow example {

param (
   [string]$variable1,
   [string]$variable2
)

InlineScript { Write-Host These arguments were passed into the workflow and grabbed from the calling session $using:variable1 $using:variable2 -ForeGroundColor Green }

}

example $scriptvariable1 $scriptvariable2

Now when you call

.\workflow.ps1 first second