Passing the contents of a csv file through to a cmdlet

I am new to PowerShell and I’m having trouble understanding what’s going on here.

I have a simple csv file whose contents look like this:
“name”
“DLT600-101”
“DLT600-106”
“DLT600-107”

These are computer names. I want to run Test-Connection against them.

I import the csv file and store it in an array:

[array]$A = Import-Csv "e:/computernames.csv"

If I display A$ I get:

name

DLT600-101
DLT600-106
DLT600-107

So far, so good.

Then I try to run the connection test against this array:

Test-Connection -ComputerName $A

What I get is a series of error messages that all begin like this:

Test-Connection : Testing connection to computer ‘@{name=DLT600-101}’ failed: A non-recoverable error occurred during a database lookup.

So my questions are 1) why does ‘@{name=DLT600-101}’ appear there, instead of ‘DLT600-101’, and 2) what am I doing wrong?.

Thanks!

That’s because the -ComputerName parameter expects one or more strings. You’ve given it an array of non-String objects.

Test-Connection -Computername ( Import-CSV whatever.csv | Select -Expand Name )

You could also:

$A = Import-CSV whatever.csv | Select -Expand Name
Test-Connection -ComputerName $A

That’s probably what you want. This “extracts” the values from the Name properties of the objects, leaving you with plain-old strings. This is one of the many fun and interesting techniques, using this exact example along with others, in “Learn PowerShell in a Month of Lunches,” and it’s an excellent example of how PowerShell is very object-oriented in how it works.

It’s so obvious when you see how it’s done. A bit like having a magic trick explained to you. Thanks very much!

I have another problem, which I suspect is of the same nature:

I want to rename a room calendar mailbox. I begin by displaying a grid view of all the existing room names:

Get-Mailbox -RecipientTypeDetails RoomMailbox | select name | sort name |