Open URL in existing iexplore identified by PID

by Grazza21 at 2013-01-09 08:49:43

hello,

I’m a complete novice at PowerShell, but am using PowerShell in preference of VB for the first time to do some IE automation.

My current issue is attempting to open a new URL in an existing IE browser Window identified by it’s Process ID alone. We have tabbed browsing enabled, but iexplore process is limited to one per browser window via a registry setting (i.e. each new browser tab in an IE window does not create a new iexplore process - all tabs in an IE window use the same iexplore process).

There are plenty of examples where I can open a new tab in an existing window based on the Window Title, but I need the be able to open my new URL in a new Window identified by it’s Process ID only. Because Window title cannot be guaranteed unique then deriving Window Tilte from PID as a means of Window Identification is no good for my purposes.

Here’s my current code that first maximizes window based on PID (works OK), but then does not open new URL in same window as required:

param($param1,$param2)

$sw = @‘
[DllImport("user32.dll")]
public static extern int ShowWindow(int hwnd, int nCmdShow);
’@

function Act-Window
{

$proc = Get-Process | Where-Object {$.ID -eq "$param1"} | Select-Object Id,Name,MainWindowHandle,MainWindowTitle

if($proc -ne 0)
{
"Activate Win: $Param2"
$type = Add-Type -Name ShowWindow2 -MemberDefinition $sw -Language CSharpVersion3 -Namespace Utils -PassThru
$type::ShowWindow($proc.MainWindowHandle, 3)

"Launch URL in existing browser: $Param3"
$win = New-Object -comObject Shell.Application
$ie = @($win.windows() | ? { $
.ID -eq $param1 })[0]
$ie.Navigate2($param2,2048)
$ie.visible=$true

}
else
{
"Launch URL in new browser: $Param3"
$ie=new-object -com internetexplorer.application
$ie.Navigate2($param2)
$ie.visible=$true

}
}

Act-Window

param1 = The PID of the iexplore process of the browser window I want to send my new URL to.
param2 = My new URL.