Newbie question about how I can shorten the following...

Hello everyone,

I’m a PowerShell newbie with a question about shortening some cmdlets I ran recently in Office 365. I converted some mailboxes to Shared Mailboxes, 9 in total. I then had to add 5 users to each of the 9 mailboxes. Since at the moment I am only good at one liners, I ended up doing the following and running it in PowerShell ISE…

Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb1@email.com -User user1 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb1@email.com -User user2 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb1@email.com -User user3 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb1@email.com -User user4 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb1@email.com -User user5 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb2@email.com -User user1 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb2@email.com -User user2 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb2@email.com -User user3 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb2@email.com -User user4 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All
Add-MailboxPermission -Identity smb2@email.com -User user5 -AccessRights FullAccess -InheritanceType All

You get the idea. Did this for 7 other mailboxes. It ran fine of course but curious to know how I could shorten this since I know I’ll probably have to do this again in the future.

Thanks in advance for the help and advice.

Nelson

Here comes the basics, you have to use looping here.

• Have usernames in an array or read it from a CSV of txt file.
  • Use Foreach-Object to iterate over.

Please read help documentation for ForEach-Object.

Get-Help ForEach-Object -Online