Newbie help to confirm app is running before continuing .... and other stuff!

Hello folks, I’m very new to PowerShell scripting although I have managed to get a grip of VBA in the last year - which came in very handy for streamlining Excel task in my current job - brownie points (but no bonus !!)

Anyway, I have the PowerShell script below that works but I need it to be a bit more automated.
The script, at the moment does the following:

Asks the user if a VPN app is running (Versa Secure Access) and waits for an input of y or n (no error trapping as yet - so if anything other than a n (or N) is entered it follows the “Else” path of the If statement).
It stores the answer to this question
It edits a text file to change a value
It runs an “If” and dependent on what was entered above:
If it sees a n or N it will run up the VPN app and wait for 30 seconds for the user to log into the VPN.
Then it will run up another app
Finally it will exit

In the “Else” bit of the IF - if a y, Y or any digit is pressed it will just run the 2nd app.

What I would like it to do is:

Not ask a question
When the script is run it will automatically check to see if the VPN is already running, if it is it will run the 2nd app.
If the VPN is not running it will run it but wait until the VPN is connected before it calls the 2nd app (rather that wait for x seconds)
Note - there is an event in the Event log when the VPN connects so thought that could be a route - or maybe using PIDs ?
If after 1 minute the VPN is not seen to connect I want to close the VPN app
Make a change to another text file
Display a bit of text
Run the VPN app again
Wait for the connect message (the text displayed above will have told the user to connect to another VPN node)
Once VPN is connected run the 2nd app

Not much to ask eh !!

The bit I need help with is to check the Event log or PID for confirmation that the VPN is running and then to kill the VPN app if it remains unconnected for a minute