newb question - creating functions

Hello

I am new to powerscript - so the answer to my question is probably something simple I am overlooking.

I am attempting to create a function just for testing purposes so that I can play around with how that process works. I can do it in the console without issue just by typing this in

function script:testecho {echo this is a functional test of echo}

calling it by typing in testecho produces the expected result

PS C:\powershell\batch> testecho
this
is
a
functional
test
of
echo

however, putting the same thing in a script does not perform as expected

cls

C:\powershell\batch>Function script:testecho {echo this is a test of the echo function}
‘Function’ is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\powershell\batch>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

C:\powershell\batch>testecho
‘testecho’ is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\powershell\batch>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

I am sure I am doing something simple wrong.

Can someone tell me what it is?

thanks

Brent

Hi Brent - You need to source the script before you call the function inside the script.

[pre]

Insert the function inside the script and source it.

C:> . .\Test-Function.ps1

Now call the function.

C:> testecho

[/pre]

Hey Brent,

I’m surprised your test worked, normally you would get an error because you have random strings in a function and Powershell doesn’t know what to do with it…

PS C:\> function Test-Echo {
    This is a test
}

PS C:\> Test-Echo
This : The term 'This' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At line:2 char:5
+     This is a test
+     ~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (This:String) [], CommandNotFoundException