Need some help writing a recursive function

hi, thanks for you help! my background is in compiled languages (C, C++ etc) and I am new to powershell. i need to write a recursive function but am having issues with the syntax. this is my code:

function myfunction {
    param(
        [Parameter(Mandatory = $true)]
        [int]
        $ColumnNumber
    )

if ($ColumnNumber -gt 26){
        return [char]([int][Math]::Floor($ColumnNumber,26))+myfunction($ColumnNumber-26)
    }
    return [char]$ColumnNumber

}

when i try to run this, i get the following:

At C:\Users\tonyg\Google Drive\Work\PowerShell\Untitled3.ps1:11 char:39
+         $ColumnString = $ColumnString+myfunction($ColumnN ...
+                                       ~
You must provide a value expression following the '+' operator.
At C:\Users\tonyg\Google Drive\Work\PowerShell\Untitled3.ps1:11 char:39
+         $ColumnString = $ColumnString+myfunction($ColumnN ...
+                                       ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unexpected token 'myfunction' in expression or statement.
    + CategoryInfo          : ParserError: (:) [], ParentContainsErrorRecordException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ExpectedValueExpression

so, i see it does not like me calling my function on the right side of the “=”. i have looked around and the examples of recursion i see on the internet are not calling the function this way.

is there a way to do what i am trying to do or is there a “powershell” way to do this?

thanks again

Tony
welcome to the forums.

What should be the actual purpose of your function? Did you notice that your error message does actually not fit to the code you posted? At least the line in the error message does not exist in your function.
In PowerShell we call functions like this:

myfunction -ColumnNumber 234

… no parenthesis needed. :wink:

Another issue might occur when your function returns a [char] but it expects an [int] as input. I wouldn’t expect this to run in a recursive function.