Need Script for Syncing Folders

I’m still very new to Powershell & very much at the beginning stages. But my company needs a script that will move files from one folder to another and as a cleanup option, delete files that are more than 7 days old. This will need to run very frequently (once a minute?) to serve the purpose.

Here is a quick rundown of what we’re doing. We our separating two of our networks and are going to use a ‘jumpbox’ that will have access to both networks. Inside of each network, we have shares set up, an “in” folder and an “out” folder. The jumpbox will sync the ‘in’ box of network 1 with the ‘out’ box of network 2 and sync the ‘in’ box of network 2 with the ‘out’ box of network 1. We want the files to get moved from the ‘in’ box to the ‘out’ box. And then delete any file that’s more than 7 days old as a cleanup feature.

I know this can be done with a simple Robocopy and some extra commands, but a Powershell script would be far more elegant & specific solution.

Have you by chance done any research prior to this post? If you are looking for someone to write a script for this scenario you might be out of luck. You are more likely to get some answers if you research a bit, bring a rough draft of code and start asking questions from there.

Here are some links to get you started.

For your scheduled task
New-ScheduledTask (ScheduledTasks) | Microsoft Learn
Setting your threshold of time and run frequency
New-ScheduledTaskTrigger (ScheduledTasks) | Microsoft Learn
Checking the creation time on files in the directory among other properties
Get-ChildItem (Microsoft.PowerShell.Management) - PowerShell | Microsoft Learn

Mark,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

I can only echo what @PoshDad said - This forum is for scripting questions rather than script requests. We do not write customized and ready to use scripts or solutions on request. And you didn’t even asked a question … :smirk: