Multiple filters -Get-ADComputer

Hi

I am very new to powershell and still learning some of the basics so apologies. I am trying to search AD Computer accounts with multiple filters. What I am trying to do is to view name / description ONLY for disabled computer accounts. I also need to filter by TGNX*. I have entered the following but keep getting syntax errors after trying various combinations for the last hour:

Get-ADComputer -filter {(enabled -eq $true) -and ‘Name -like “TGNX*”’} -Property Name,Description,Enabled | Select -Property Name,Enabled,Description

Many thanks!

Use -LDAPFilter.

Get-ADComputer -LDAPFilter “(&(name=laptop)(enabled=‘true’))”

The docs are pretty messed up for these active directory cmdlet filters. The filter is a string, not a script block, despite what the docs say. The get-aduser docs have the same problem.

< filter > ::= "{" < FilterComponentList > "}"

Double quotes and single quotes must go this way for variables to work. This works for me:

Get-ADComputer -filter "enabled -eq '$true' -and name -like 'TGNX*'"

Actually, to hurt your brain some more, this works too:

Get-ADComputer -filter 'enabled -eq $true -and name -like "TGNX*"'

Always step into your code one piece at a time to make sure you are getting what you’ expect before moving or adding more.

Get-ADComputer -Filter * -Property Name,Description,Enabled | 
Select -Property Name,Enabled,Description | 
Format-Table -AutoSize
<#
Name         Enabled Description
----         ------- -----------
DC01        True            
WAP01      False 
WS01        True           
#>

Get-ADComputer -filter {enabled -eq $true} -Property Name,Description,Enabled | 
Format-Table -AutoSize
<#
Name         Enabled Description
----         ------- -----------
DC01        True            
WS01        True 
#>

Get-ADComputer -filter {Name -like '*ws01*'} -Property Name,Description,Enabled | 
Format-Table -AutoSize
<#
Name     Enabled Description
----     ------- -----------