Move files from various folders to one

Hi. I’m new to this. I have a list of file names in an Excel spreadsheet. They are in various folders in a drive. I’m looking to go through the list, find the files and move them to a single folder. In other words, go one by one through the Excel file, search for the file and then move it. They all will be moved to the same folder. I appreciate any help you can provide. Thank you.

Ken,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t3:

That’s a nice task for practicing I think. Do you have any question?

What help do you expect?

This forum is for scripting questions rather than script requests. We do not write customized and ready to use scripts or solutions on request.

We actually expect you to make an own attempt at the first place to get your task done or to solve your problem. If you have done so already please document here what exactly you have done and show your code. Then we probably might be able to help you step further.

Thanks for your help. Do you have any suggestions on where I can go with help to learn and get started? Thanks.

It depends pretty much on how new you are to this …

This video series is somewhat old but I think it’s still worth to watch for beginners

Don’t worry that it is about PowerShell version 3. The basics are still the same.

1 Like

Definitely follow Olaf’s recommendation and take a look at some videos. I’ll add a bit more advice here as well.