Modify AccountExpDate to Null

by dastock at 2012-10-29 09:54:49

I’m fairly new to Powershell and am banging my head with this seemingly simple issue. I am scanning AD for users who have an EmployeeID and AccountExpirationDate. When I find them I want to set the AEDate to $null. Problem seems to be piping the output from my search to the Set-aduser cmdlet. I’ve tried a few different ways. Any help is appreciated. I’ve tried foreach, set-aduser

Import-Module ActiveDirectory
$users = Get-ADUser -Filter * -SearchBase ‘OU=users,DC=domain,DC=Com’ -properties AccountExpirationDate, EmployeeID | `
Where-Object{ $.AccountExpirationDate -ne $null -and $.EmployeeID -ne $null | select-object name, samaccountname,
AccountExpirationDate, EmployeeID | ForEach-Object ( $user in $users ) { Set-ADUser $.AccountExpirationDate = $null }

Error from above script :(Unexpected token ‘in’ in expression or statement. At line:4 char:61)

This piece works for modifying the property to null, I just can’t seem to feed it a var that works. If I use this in above script instead of the ForEach loop, I get an Identity undefined error.
Get-ADUser -Identity "username"
$user.AccountExpirationDate = $null
Set-ADUser -Instance $user
by coderaven at 2012-10-29 12:05:06
First off, I want to tell you that filtering as soon as possible is of great benefit!

Here is what I came up with
Get-ADUser -Filter {employeeid -like "" -AND AccountExpirationDate -like ""} | Set-ADUser -AccountExpirationDate $Null
I learned LDAP filtering in the past which helps. This filter is just asking if there is a value or not. It seem a little heavy for a filter but works.
by dastock at 2012-10-29 14:23:38
Thanks Allan. That did work for me, I had tried using Set-Aduser $.AccountExpirationDate = $null.

When I filter at the beginning it doesn’t seem to like when I search for $.EmployeeID -ne $null, that’s how I ended up with the Where-Object line. Is there a way to search for employeeid -ne $null?