Mail alert for file copying failed

Hello Experts,

I am new to PowerShell, i need your support.

we have a requirement like file copying one server to another server. i have implemeted without mail alert. when files is not aexist, and password expiration… those cases… i tried for sending mail alert … but its failing…

can you suggest…

Requirement : 1 . validating network credentials
2. checking file exist or not ?
3. copying file from A server to B
4. copying server from B server to C
i tried but, if and else conditions are executing…

can you suggest how to implement exception and mail alert …

net use \abc\ /user:"$user" “$pass”

$dir=“A:\Backup”

if(Test-Path -Path $dir)
{

wrrite-host “”
}

Get-ChildItem $dir -File | Copy-Item -destination B:\Backup -Recurse -ErrorVariable err
elseif($err)
{
send-mailmessage -From $fromaddress -To $toaddress -Subject $sSubject -SMTPServer $smtpserver -Body $sBody err

}
elseif
{

send-mailmessage -From $fromaddress -To $toaddress -Subject $fSubject -SMTPServer $smtpserver -Body $fBody

}

net use \abc\ /user:"$user" “$pass”

$sdir=“B:\Backup”

Get-ChildItem $sdir -File | Copy-Item -destination C:\Backup -Recurse -ErrorVariable err
elseif($err)
{
send-mailmessage -From $fromaddress -To $toaddress -Subject $sSubject -SMTPServer $smtpserver -Body $sBody err

}
elseif
{

send-mailmessage -From $fromaddress -To $toaddress -Subject $fSubject -SMTPServer $smtpserver -Body $fBody

}

can you help on this…

Hello bsr,

Could you provide the error message ?
you said its failed, but what failed?
copy item filed or send mail failed?

RRRRR,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

You picked a slightly complex task and since your new to PowerShell I’d recommend to start with one single smaller part of it. :wink: