Invoke-Command with Error Action and Error Variable

Hi All,

I’m relatively new to Powershell and i’m having some trouble with the below script I have put together with some help from a tutorial video.

What I’m trying to create is a script that captures the TPM chip details of the computers I feed in to the $computers variable . With the details i would like it to Output the successful results into a csv and any computers that fail to connect or has issues it writes to .txt file.

The successful entries seemed to be caught in the csv, however no errors are being created, yet i can see lots in the shell for computers that are offline etc…

$Computers = Get-ADComputer -Filter * -SearchBase "OU=Laptops,OU=COMPUTERS,OU=COMPANY,DC=COMPANY,DC=local" | Select-Object -ExpandProperty name
try {
    Invoke-Command -ComputerName $Computers {Get-tpm | Select-Object TpmPresent, TpmReady, ManufacturerVersionFull20 -ErrorAction Stop -ErrorVariable errors } | export-csv c:\tmp\success.csv -Append
} catch {
    $computers | Out-File c:\tmp\errors.txt -Append
    Write-Warning "Error $computers : $errors"
}

Thank you in advance for any support and advice :slight_smile:

Thanks
Anthony

This worked for me…

try {
Invoke-Command -ComputerName (Get-ADComputer -Filter * -SearchBase "OU=Laptops,OU=COMPUTERS,OU=COMPANY,DC=COMPANY,DC=local" | `
Select-Object -ExpandProperty name) -ScriptBlock {
Get-tpm | Select-Object TpmPresent, TpmReady, ManufacturerVersionFull20 -ErrorAction Stop
} -ErrorVariable errors | export-csv c:\temp\success.csv -NoTypeInformation -Append ; $errors | Out-File c:\temp\errors.txt
} catch {
Write-Warning "Error $_ "
}

well, I would do it this way, leaving the error handling for each node expecting a tabular output as result

$Computers = Get-ADComputer -Filter * -SearchBase "OU=Laptops,OU=COMPUTERS,OU=COMPANY,DC=COMPANY,DC=local" | Select-Object -ExpandProperty name

$Result = Invoke-Command -ComputerName $Computers {
                Try{