Install Updates/Upgrades using PowerShell

Hi All,

I am new to powershell but learning more everyday it seem. I have been given a task to figure out how to perform software updates/upgrades using Powershell.

I have come up with a script but it is not working properly and need some help figuring out what is wrong with the script so I can get it to work or coming up with a script that will work.

Below is the script I am currently trying…

“”"Welcome to Orlando’s application deployment interface. Please select from the folowing

applications to deploy or uninstall.

1. VLC Media Player 3.0.11
  2. Any App 2
  3. More coming soon

4. “”"

$selection = Read-Host -Prompt "Please enter your selection: "
$targetComputer = Read-Host -Prompt "Enter target computer: "
$destination = "\$targetComputer\c$\temp"

if(!(Test-Path -Path $destination )){
New-Item -ItemType directory -Path $destination
}

if ($selection = 1) {

$alphaSelection = Read-Host -Prompt “Press I to install or X to uninstall”
$file = ‘\server\filer7\Software\VLC Media Player\VLC 3.0.11\Install.vbs’
}

Copy-Item -Path $file -Destination “\$targetComputer\c$\temp\Install.vbs”

#Wait-Event -Timeout 30

if ($alphaSelection = “I”){

Invoke-Command -ComputerName $targetComputer -ScriptBlock {cscript.exe c:\temp\Install.vbs $Using:LocalPath}
}

else {
Invoke-Command -ComputerName $targetComputer -ScriptBlock {cscript.exe c:\temp\Install.vbs $Using:LocalPath}

}

<hr />

When I run it and input the selections required the files get copied to the target computer as expected but the vbs scripts never run or I am getting the following error…

PS C:&gt; D:\Installmsi.ps1
"Welcome to Orlando’s application deployment interface. Please select from the folowing
applications to deploy or uninstall.

1. VLC Media Player 3.0.11
  2. Any App 2
  3. More coming soon

4. "
    Please enter your selection: : 1
    Enter target computer: : amhraowintest16

Directory: \amhraowintest16\c$

Mode LastWriteTime Length Name