How to Restart After Running EXE Installer

I am completely new to PowerShell… As in I just started using it a few days ago. Much patience will be greatly appreciated…
Most of our workstations are Windows 7, so I am writing and testing the script using PowerShell ISE 2.0

I am attempting to write a script that will automate the installation of an application. Before doing so, I want the script to check for previous versions, if there are any, uninstall those version, wait for the uninstaller to finish, and reboot the computer. The part I am struggling with is how to get the script to reboot the computer ONLY if the uninstaller runs. Below is what I am attempting to use to accomplish this.

if (([bool] ($version)-eq $true)-and(($version)-ne $ActVer)) {Invoke-Expression “\Server\Folder\Uninstall.exe /silent” | Start-Sleep -s 20} Restart-Computer

There are several other parameters that are needed but, currently don’t work… That is a separate issue though.

I have asked Google several times…
I have tried -Wait
I have tried Out-Null
Finally, I tried Start-Sleep

The only time anything works is when I put Restart-Computer outside the { }. Unfortunately, this caused the computer to reboot regardless of whether or not the uninstaller runs.

Have you tried Start-Process with the Wait parameter?

Something like this:

Start-Process -FilePath  "\\Server\Folder\Uninstall.exe" -ArgumentList '/sleep' -Wait
Restart-Computer

PowerShell will then check if the process is still running, and when it isn’t it will go to the next line in the script, which in this case is the computer restart.

/Alexander

Well, two things.

If you only want Restart-Computer to run after your uninstaller runs, then Restart-Computer should probably be INSIDE the If{} construct, not outside it.

if (([bool] ($version)-eq $true)-and(($version)-ne $ActVer)) {
  Invoke-Expression "\\Server\Folder\Uninstall.exe /silent"
  Start-Sleep -s 20
 Restart-Computer
}

Which isn’t how you have it.