How can I apply what I learn?

Hello all. New to the site and wanted to say hi.

I’ve been messing around with PowerShell for about a year, but am ready to learn it for real now. I have written and revised a script, https://github.com/jeffschofield/PowerShell, but other than using it at my last job I don’t have any way to apply what I learn. This leads to me becoming disinterested and next thing I know a couple months have gone by and I’ve pretty much forgotten everything I had learned. I don’t use PS all that much for work (I hope to in the future), but I think that is because I don’t know how to utilize in a non-production setting, like if I’m studying at home.

So I guess my question is: what are some things I can do at home or on my work computer that will allow me to retain what I learn?

Hopefully this makes sense. Reading it back it doesn’t seem to, but maybe it’s just me.

Any input is appreciated!

Jeff,

I was in the same boat as you. I started learning PowerShell back in version 2.0 but got really interested in version 3.0. I started with building a lab, running Windows Server and some clients. I was able to create users in AD with PS, used remoting and DSC. Once I was able to show our desktop engineer what I can do with PowerShell, he started to give me projects. Now, I have to create a PowerShell Outlook Signature script that can tie into AD for user info.

Thanks for the response, Wilfredo. I guess my next step is to build a lab. Did you use the Windows Server trial version? What kind of VM did you use?

I found it incredibly easy to use PowerShell at work. I’m a sysadmin by trade, and I manage Exchange, Lync server, AD, SharePoint, VMware, Hyper-V, Citrix XenApp, XenDesktop and NetScaler and a number of other products. Some I have more responsibility over than others, but we’re a fairly small IT shop for a law firm so we get exposure to many products (many focused on legal purposes).