Help with test-path

Hi everyone!

I’m new to Powershell, so hoping to gain to experience/knowledge to become better!

I ran the below script to test if a file is on a remote computer, but the results returned as False even though I have verified the file is there through Windows Explorer. I tested the same script on my local computer and it returned as True (both files are on both remote and local computer).

$cred = Get-Credential
$Session = New-PSSession -ComputerName “Computer1” -Credential $cred
(Test-Path “\$Session\c$\temp\test.txt”)

below are the results of running the script:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> $cred = Get-Credential
$Session = New-PSSession -ComputerName “Computer1” -Credential $cred
(Test-Path “\$Session\c$\temp\test.txt”)
cmdlet Get-Credential at command pipeline position 1
Supply values for the following parameters:
False

Additional Notes: I did get a prompt to enter my credentials and it was submitted successfully, which resulted in the False result. I confirmed this by entering bad credentials which resulted in ‘password is incorrect’.

Can you assist in trying to figure out why it is returning as false and how I can change it to it returns True correctly?

New-PSSession creates a PowerShell session using winrm to execute commands on another computer. To test a file you just need Test-Path like below.

Test-Path \\Computer1\C$\temp\test.txt

If credentials is required to connect to that computer you would do it like below

$cred = Get-Credential

# When using Session, you can do multiple invoke commands using the same session (there are other benefits as well)
$Session = New-PSSession -ComputerName "Computer1" -Credential $cred
Invoke-Command -Session $Session -ScriptBlock {Test-Path C:\temp\test.txt}

# Or

# When session is not used, credentials has to be mentioned for each invokes
Invoke-Command -ComputerName 'Computer1' -ScriptBlock {Test-Path C:\temp\test.txt} -Credential $Cred