Help with Switch Statement

Hello, I’m new to Powershell Scripting and i was trying to get muliple output from switch as a single var so the script is :

$write = read-host "write"

Switch ($write) {
    0 { $write_text = 'great' }
    1 { $write_text = 'will' }
    2 { $write_text = 'to' }
    3 { $write_text = 'learn' }
    4 { $write_text = 'powershell' }
}
"i have a $write_text okay"

Desired Output: when i give value 0,1,2,3,4 to read-host after running the script

i have a really great will to learn

I got no error messages but i didn’t get the desired result too. It went well when i gave read-host a single value like just 1 which gives the output:

i have a will okay

But when i give read-host a multiple value like 1,2 it gives me the same result as above.

NevGi,

welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

When you post code, error messages, console output or sample data please format it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ).

Thanks in advance.

You have to make some small changes to make your code work.

$write = read-host "write"

Switch ($write) {
    0 { $write_text = 'great' }
    1 { $write_text = 'will' }
    2 { $write_text = 'to' }
    3 { $write_text = 'learn' }
    4 { $write_text = 'powershell' }
}
"i have a $write_text yea"

I’d recommend to always read the complete help topics including the examples for the cmdlets or statements or operators you’re about to use.

I did read the about_switch, about_variables, about_read-host but i got nothing. I mean the script works if i just typed the values 0,1,2,3,4 instead of doing read-host . Which gives me my desired output.

I didn’t get that. You edited your initial question .

So everything works as expected? … great. :+1:t4: