Help with function, output not as expected

I would appreciate any help I can get on this, it’s not working the way I want and I can’t figure out why as it seems like it should. I’m new to powershell, just finished up the Powershell in a Month of Lunches book and decided to write a little module to help me out with some day to day tasks.

Here is the code:

The part that queries the computers for logged on user and last boot time works just fine and returns results as I would expect. It’s the error handling that catches computers that are unreachable, and should output them at the end that isn’t working. Where I would expect it to look something like:

Unreachable

NOTONLINE
NOTONLINE2
NOTONLINE3

I just get blank space… it’s like it’s there, but hidden.

You’re not appending to the array correctly.

Define $errorPC = @() to create an empty array. To add something to it, it’s just $errorPC += $computer - you don’t need the comma in there. That said, I’m not entirely clear why you’re using an array at all. And all you’re doing in your END block is passing computer names to an ErrorHandling function, which isn’t doing anything at all.

You might look into the book’s sequel - Learn PowerShell Toolmaking in a Month of Lunches - as that’s where you’re now playing ;).

I was using an array because it could potentially have many computer names contained in it since I could feed it a list, or pipe a list to it, so I assumed I need the array functionality…

I guess I don’t understand why my ErrorHandling function is doing nothing. I assumed it would create PSObjects and output them similarly to how it looks when the GetComputerInfoWork function runs. I could just as easily put Write-Output $pc is unreachable into the END block instead… which does work… but then the output looks like:

NOTONLINE is unreachable
NOTONLINE2 is unreachable
NOTONLINE3 is unreachable