Grandfather-Father-Son Backup

by FloydTheDuck at 2013-03-25 08:51:33

Hello,I’m very new to Powershell and the subtitle for this forum said n00b’s welcome - so here I am :slight_smile: (and I won’t apologize since rule number 3 says not to :wink: )

My past experience has always been finding scripts (VB or, at my new job, Powershell) online and then modifying them to meet my needs. However, my current task is to setup a weekly script to do a Grandfather-Father-Son backup and Google searches have turned me up with few results. Here’s the setup:

IFS/Oracle Database (on Windows 2k8) has a hot backup every morning at 0430 to a iSCSI SAN. This SAN is then replicated across a WAN. What we would like is to retain 3 quarters, 3 month end, and 3 weeks of these backups. So, in essence, at the end of January 2013, we would have:
(3 quarters) — March 31st 2012, June 30th 2012, Sept 30th 2012
(3 months) — Oct 31st 2012, Nov 30th 2012, Dec 2012
(3 weeks) — Jan 5, 12, and 19 of 2013 (the first 3 Saturdays, as the last will likely be close to the EOM)

I’ve seen a bit online about finding the last days in a month, with syntax such as:

$Dayname = "Friday"
$LastDayOfMonth = (Get-Date -Year (Get-Date).Year -Month (Get-Date).Month -Day 1).AddMonths(1).AddDays(-1)
If($LastDayOfMonth.DayOfWeek -eq $DayName)
{
$Answer = $LastDayOfMonth
} #End If
Else {
While($Answer -eq $Null)
{
$LastDayOfMonth = $LastDayOfMonth.AddDays(-1)
{
} #End If
}#End While
}#End Else

We will likely have a second SAN that this script will replicate to before going across the WAN. So, once this script is implemented, it will be something like:
Database->Hot backup SAN->GF-F-S backup to other local SAN->Mirror/replicated to SAN off-site