Get-service | Start-process

Hi,

I’m a beginner with PS and couldn’t find on the network the information:
I want to start process on my computer only after a specific service is on “Running” status in another computer in the same network.
i believe that it’s a kind of a loop that will stop and then will run the start-process cmdlet when the service is running. 1 second interval between every attempt required.

Thanks for your help

Dear,

perhaps you can do something with get-help Get-Service -Full or Get-service -Examples in order to see what options and switches you can use.

good luck.

Thanks for your replay.

since “If” and “Else” must be involved it’s not the exact examples i need.

So you’ll need Invoke-Command for the remote machine call to contain the Get-Service call… but you can in theory just wait for it to be running.

while ((Invoke-Command -ComputerName $RemotePCName -ScriptBlock { Get-Service -Name $using:ServiceName }).Status -ne "Running") {
    # Pause before next check
    Start-Sleep -Seconds 5 
}

Start-Process -FilePath $Process

adding some perf improvements to @ta11ow 's reply.

$Session = New-PSSession -ComputerName $RemotePCName
while ((Invoke-Command -Session $Session -ScriptBlock { Get-Service -Name $using:ServiceName }).Status -ne "Running") {
    Start-Sleep -Seconds 5 
}

about that:

$using:ServiceName

should all of it be replaced with the service name?

$Using notation is a feature made available from PS 3.0. This will help to use local variables in a remote session. If I create a variable $foo = 1
I will access it like $using:foo in a remote session.

Correct me if i’m wrong, PSsession or invoke-command will not work if WinRM is not enabled at the RemotePC.
When i’m writing in my computer Get-Service -ComputerName Computer1 -Name ServiceName it provides the requested information.
all i need is that when the status is running, go to the next step which is start-process