Get-Mailbox script help

by TPCK1 at 2012-08-23 12:08:22

I’m new to the powershell scripting environment and need a little help.
I want to pull all mailboxes from my exchange server but I want to eliminate all shared resources, distribution groups, and generic logins and email addresses like csr123, shop123.

So far this is the code I have - which works but it’s pulling everything on the exchange server:

Get-Mailbox -ResultSize Unlimited |Select-Object DisplayName,ServerName,PrimarySmtpAddress,Company,Department,Office > c:\scripts\mailboxes.txt

They way the script pulls it’s also formatting the results in the following manner:

DisplayName : LastName, FirstName
ServerName : Exchange
PrimarySmtpAddress : firstname.lastname@domain.com
Company :
Department :
Office : Corporate

Instead of the results in the above format I would like it to just go across so it would make it easier to dump into Excel.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - and I apologize ahead of time if I’m posting in the incorrect area or manner.
Thanks.
by poshoholic at 2012-08-23 14:02:51
What you’re asking is simple enough. You want to perform server side filtering either using the parameters on Get-Mailbox or, specifically, using the Filter parameter, so that you don’t get all objects back from the server. You should start by reading help on the Filter parameter for Get-Mailbox.

[script=powershell]Get-Help Get-Mailbox -Parameter Filter[/script]
Regarding your comment about getting it into Excel, have you looked at the Export-Csv cmdlet? That command was designed with this goal in mind. Instead of redirecting the results of your command to a file, pipe the results to Export-Csv. The file you end up with will open up directly in Excel (which is what you are looking for).

[script=powershell]Get-Help Export-Csv -examples[/script]