Get-Eventlog not showing results

Hello Team,

When I execute the following script, it does not show results, only the “else” statement. But when I execute this line by itself, I get several results. It’s obviously something wrong with the script, but since I’m a PS newbie, I’m not sure what it is! Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Stephen C

$smtpServer = “smtp.mydomain.com
$smtpFrom = “$env:computername@mydomain.com
$smtpTo = “stephen@mydomain.com
$messageSubject = “$env:computername Application Event log ‘Error/Warning’ in last 24 hours”

$message = New-Object System.Net.Mail.MailMessage $smtpfrom, $smtpto
$message.Subject = $messageSubject
$message.IsBodyHTML = $true

$message.Body = Get-Eventlog -LogName Application -EntryType Error,Warning -After (Get-Date).AddHours(-24) | ConvertTo-Html
ConvertTo-HTML -Body “$message” -Title “messageSubject” -CssURI c:\style.css

If ($message.Body -eq “Error,Warning”)
{
$smtp = New-Object Net.Mail.SmtpClient($smtpServer)
$smtp.Send($message)
}
else
{
Write-host “No Application Events on $env:computername”
}

This:

$message.Body = Get-Eventlog -LogName Application -EntryType Error,Warning -After (Get-Date).AddHours(-24) | ConvertTo-Html

Means $message.Body contains a bunch of HTML.

This:

If ($message.Body -eq "Error,Warning")

Will never be true. $message.Body will never be exactly equal to “Error,Warning.” The -eq operator tests for “exactly equal to.”

Thank you for your response. I removed “Warning” from the code (as shown below) and still get the following issue.

If I execute this line by itself, if details several results:

Get-Eventlog -LogName Application -EntryType Warning -After (Get-Date).AddDays(-10)

When I execute that line in the following script, it only displays the “else” statement:

$smtpServer = "smtp.mds.com"
$smtpFrom = "$env:computername@mdsnocad.com"
$smtpTo = "stephen.crowell@bettervideo.com"
$messageSubject = "$env:computername Application Event log 'Error/Warning' in last 24 hours"