Generate list of all members of specific AD groups with properties

Hello Guys,

I’m working on a script which will be used to audit members of all Ad groups with a specific string in the name. I want to generate a table with the group name and all members underneath - which will include their full name, title, department etc.

I have got most of this working but i know need to output the results to a spreadsheet and when i try to pipe format table into export csv, i get junk (i assume export csv doesn’t support input from format table). I also cannot skip the format table function as i need it to format the information. Can anyone advise on how i could save the output in a way which will look the same as the console output when the script is run?

I’ll also add that i am new to powershell so i may be missing something obvious. I’ve also removed sensitive data such as ou path and search string.

Here is the code:

$Groups = Get-ADGroup -SearchBase "OU=x,DC=x,DC=x,DC=x" -Filter "name -like '*search-string*'"

Foreach($Group in $Groups) {
    echo $Group
    Get-ADGroupMember -Identity $Group | Get-ADObject -Properties Name, Title, Department| Format-Table Name, Title, Department 

}

Thanks

A

You could change it just slightly. The select object will create a new object with only those properties so your export should be cleaner.

[pre]

Get-ADGroupMember -Identity $Group | Get-ADObject -Properties Name, Title, Department| Select-Object -Property Name, Title, Department | Export-csv -path somepath.csv

[/pre]

I think you can take out the “format-table” & put in “Select” or “Select-Object” instead when exporting to CSV.

Then, add the “| Export-CSV FILENAME.CSV -NoTypeInformation” to the end of the script to create the CSV file.