ForEach Loop through a directory

by spoony123 at 2012-10-30 16:22:57

Evening, i am new to Poweshell and have posted a few times recently as i am on a bit of a steep learning curve at the mo - so apologies for so many posts.

I now need to write a script that will aim to give me the Top 50 sft files in all directories.

a) Look through a top level directory and obtain a list of folders (essentially this is the list being created for the foreach loop)
b) Will then look at a particular sub directory in each folder
c) Check for .sft files and do a count of them
d) Present a grand total for each .sft file (there will be many duplicates in all the directories) with th

The code i have created thus far seems to work to some extent but only appears to process one of the folders, i cannot fathom out what i have done wrong.
[code2=powershell]

#Get Foldernames into Variable for ForEach Loop
$DFSFolders = get-childitem -path "c:\temp\dfs" | where-object {$.Psiscontainer -eq "True"} |select-object name

#Loop through folders in Directory
foreach ($DFSfolder in $DFSfolders)
{
#For Each Folder obtain objects in a specified directory, recurse then filter for .sft file type, obtain the filename, then group, sort and eventually show the file name and total incidences of it.
get-childitem -path "c:\temp\dfs$($DFSfolder.name)\Apps" -recurse -filter *.sft | select-object name | group {$
.name} | sort name | select-object name,count | export-csv c:\top50.csv

}

[/code2]
by Klaas at 2012-10-31 01:06:05
They may all be processed, but with every iteration the top50.csv is overwritten. You can use the -Append switch to overcome that.
If I understand it correctly, you want the top50 to be generated once over all subfolders? Now you group each subfolder apart.
by Makovec at 2012-10-31 04:29:41
And one additional note. You can rewrite first working line to this form: