Filtering out group membership: Unknown error

by knuckle_sandwich at 2013-04-15 03:36:30

Hello everyone, I’m very new to PS and having major headaches. i won’t apologize for my noobness, just have pitty pls :slight_smile:

So I need to filter out members of an OU who are in GRP1 but not in GRP2.
I tested this line in my test environment and it worked:

get-aduser -Properties MemberOf -f {MemberOf -eq ‘GRP1_FQDN’} -searchbase “OU_FQDN” | Where {!($.MemberOf -eq ‘GRP2_FQDN’)}

All happy I tried it in the PROD env today and it failed miserably. No errors neither. Just no results. But hte conditions are met, I’m sure of it.
But if it was a syntax problem I would get errors no? Anybody can suggest a way?

Thanks a lot
Luka
by tmmuessig at 2013-04-15 05:00:23
Looks like you are not telling it to actually get any users to evaluate.

try this

get-aduser * -properties MemberOf -filter ‘MemberOf -eq “GRP1_FQDN”’ -searchbase "OU_FQDN | where {!($
.memberof -eq ‘GRP2_FQDN’)}
by ArtB0514 at 2013-04-15 08:33:27
You might also read over what you’ve written to see if that’s what you really mean. Your filter is chosing only users who belong to only a single group (GRP1_FQDN). That will certainly exclude any users belonging to GRP2_FQDN, so the Where-Object clause is therefore redundant. So, I think you probably want to use -contains instead of -eq. (See Get-Help about_Comparison_Operators)
by coderaven at 2013-04-15 09:05:23
The issue looks like you just need to user the full group DN in your filter. The MemberOf attribute is an array of group DNs that the user is a member. Also, try to put your entire filter together to remove your |.
get-aduser -Properties memberof -filter {MemberOf -eq 'CN=Domain Admins,CN=Users,DC=YOUR,DC=DOMAIN,DC=ORG -AND MemberOf -ne "CN=Bad Group,OU=Groups,DC=YOUR,DC=DOMAIN,DC=ORG}