File server permissions

I’m very new to PowerShell, I need a help to fix my business solution.
I have file server in my network it has a shared folder(D:\Users - \fileserver\Users) this folder has users folders with user account names. I need to assign only modify permissions to users on their respective folders.

$usersfolders = "C:\Users\hmunagapati\Desktop\Users"
$foldername = Get-ChildItem -Name -Path $usersfolders
Add-NTFSAccess -Account indigo\$foldername -AccessRights Modify -Path $usersfolders\$foldername

Error -
Add-NTFSAccess : Cannot bind parameter ‘Account’. Cannot convert value “mydomain\usr1 usr2 usr3” to type
“Security2.IdentityReference2”. Error: “Some or all identity references could not be translated.”
At C:\Users\harish\Desktop\Permissions.ps1:3 char:25

• Add-NTFSAccess -Account indigo$foldername -AccessRights Modify -Path $usersfold …
  •                     ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• CategoryInfo : InvalidArgument: (:slight_smile: [Add-NTFSAccess], ParameterBindingException
    • FullyQualifiedErrorId : CannotConver

Here I’m unable to pass the values from “Get-ChildItem -Name -Path $usersfolders”, help me how to pass one by one value from this.

Get-ChildItem is going to return a collection of folders as a PSObject, which contains multiple properties for each folder. You need to loop through each returned folder and use the Name and FullName properties to build the command for Add-NTFSAccess:

$folders = Get-ChildItem -Name -Path $usersfolders
foreach ($folder in $folders) {
    Add-NTFSAccess -Account indigo\$folder.Name -AccessRights Modify -Path $folder.FullName
}

Keep in mind that the command is attempting to resolve the user in Active Directory, so if the user doesn’t exist, you will still receive an error. This can be handled using a Try\Catch if required.

Thank you for your help Rob,

I’m getting the below error.

Add-NTFSAccess : Cannot bind parameter ‘Account’. Cannot convert value “indigo\usr1.Name” to type