File not being moved with Move-Item commandlet

Hello POSH fam

Just wondering if I could get some clarification on why a file will not move using function Move-Item.

Premise of the script is to execute commands to modify a system setting and create/save a log of the script run using Out-File to create a logging of the script run.

I have multiple functions as you can see :slight_smile:

The goal of the script is accomplished thanks to the assistance provided in my previous post > https://powershell.org/forums/topic/search-string-in-powercfg-result/

I am not able to output/save my log file unto the desired location in “C:\Temp” when executing the script, however I am able to run the cmdlets in a Powershell session, just not when I try to execute the .ps1 file.

Additionally, As I am fairly new to POSH, for Powershell proper “etiquette” and/or best-practices, does creating multiple functions the way to go or …some other way.

My apologies for the length of the script in advance.

Thanks,

Alex

<#
.SYNOPSIS
   Script to locate Disable_PC_Lock and remove
.DESCRIPTION

.PARAMETER 

.EXAMPLE

#>

# Function to check and/or create folder to store logs

function Test-FolderExist {

$Folder=Test-Path -Path 'c:\Temp\'

if ($Folder -eq $false)
            {
                New-Item -Path 'c:\Temp\' -ItemType 'directory'

Check-PowerPlan

}
            else { exit }            

}

#Change PowerScheme/Plan

function ChangeActivePowerPlan {

"Changing Active Power Plan to Balanced.....................................`r`n" | Out-File "c:\$Temp\REMOVAL_LOG.$env:COMPUTERNAME.log" -Append

"> Locate additional power plan" | Out-File "c:\$Temp\REMOVAL_LOG.$env:COMPUTERNAME.log" -Append

$NotActivePlan= Get-WmiObject -Class win32_PowerPlan -Namespace root\cimv2\power -Filter "ElementName = 'Balanced'"
		$NotActiveGuid= $NotActivePlan.InstanceID.split('{')[1]
		$SetActivePlanGuid= $NotActiveGuid -replace '}',""