Extracting data from .xml files

Hi all

I’m a keen to learn novice at this so I wonder if someone could help. I have a number of .xml files that I wish to extract certain variables from in order to identify the ones that need updating.
A previous colleague had written the formula below to extract equation values so I thought I’d edit this one to extract sub batch types and associated variables but it doesn’t work. Bizarrely the old one also doesn’t work anymore. What am I missing if I wish to extract subbatchtype name, labeltemplate and layouttemplate for each of the worksheets I have?

Get-ChildItem “S:\QA\Worksheets\QAS\QAS current*.xml” | foreach-object {$x = [xml] (gc $_); Write-Output "$($x.worksheet.basicData.code), $($x.worksheet.basicData.worksheetVersion.version), $($x.worksheet.basicData.name), [$($x.worksheet.equations.equation.fixed.variableName), $($x.worksheet.equations.equation.fixed.value), $($x.worksheet.equations.equation.fixed.unit) ] > desktop\XXEquationValuestoday.txt

Example of original .xml files

Welcome DrMartin!

Would you do me a huge favor and edit your post and format your code? See: How to format code on PowerShell.org

so a couple things stand out:

1. Even formatted ‘as code’, that code IMO is not easy to follow as written. It really would benefit from a small refactor/cleanup.
  2. What that code is doing is grabbing the XML and turning into a PowerShell Object. The ‘nodes’ essentially become properties. You can access the ‘root’ property by using the ‘dot’, then typing it, in this case worksheet. If there’s a sub-node under worksheet, you access it by doing the dot once more, so, for example basicData. In some examples I’m not seeing the property in the file (for example, where is code or WorksheetVersion?)