Export slowness for data ALREADY in memory

Hello,

I’ve been using PowerShell for several years, but I’ve noticed a very strange behavior and I’d like to get your opinion on whether this is normal or if it can be fixed/worked around.

Here’s my test: I retrieve the list of users, once by specifying a domain controller and once without.

$UserA = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties *
$UserB = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties * -Server $DC

Then I export them to CSV, for example.

The problem is as follows: the export of UserB takes MUCH longer.
I’m not referring to the time it takes to execute the Get-ADUser command, just the CSV export.
Export A takes 0.3s
Export B takes 46s

If I disconnect my network connection befoire the CSV export, the export of UserB is incomplete, with some properties being empty (such as the email field).
So, it seems that PowerShell is not storing everything in memory, and some properties appear to be fetched DURING the export :frowning: .

So, is this normal?
How can I make this process faster?

Let me know if you want my test script to reproduce the behavior:

$UserA = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties * -SearchBase $OU
$UserB = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties * -SearchBase $OU -Server $DC
(Measure-Command {$UserA | Export-Csv -Path “.\UserA.csv”}).TotalSeconds
“Export with DC”
(Measure-Command {$UserB | Export-Csv -Path “.\UserB.csv”}).TotalSeconds

You are utilizing the pipeline for the entire command. Try storing the data before exporting

$UserA = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties *
$UserA | Export-Csv -Path ".\UserA.csv"

and

$UserB = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties * -Server $DC
$UserB | Export-Csv -Path ".\UserB.csv"

That’s what I’m doing, the data is stored in a variable before the export.
You have my script at the end of the message.

that’s pretty interesting. When I’m at work I’ll try to reproduce this and see if i get the same experience.