Error with string processing

I’m trying to create and run a command in powershell.

I have a list of email addresses to remove and when I try to create a command it is not working.

Command:

get-mailbox -resultsize unlimited | search mailbox -searchquery from:"someone@somewhere.com" -targetmailbox Cleanup -targetfolder Processed -deletecontent -loglevel full

In PS I cannot combine the strings

$CMDString = “get-mailbox -resultsize unlimited | search mailbox -searchquery from:” +“”" + $emailaddress + “”" +"

-targetmailbox Cleanup -targetfolder Processed -deletecontent -loglevel full"

This is the end result:

" -targetmailbox Cleanup -targetfolder Processed -deletecontent -loglevel full someone@somewhere.com

It appears anything after the variable overwrites the beginning of the string.

Hi coulbc59

I am not an expert in Exchange Server though, but for your requirement to manage with the strings in the arguments you can run the command like below…

[pre]Get-Mailbox -ResultSize unlimited | Search-Mailbox -SearchQuery 'from:"$emailaddress"' -TargetMailbox Cleanup -TargetFolder Processed -DeleteContent -LogLevel Full[/pre]
And please format the code using PRE tags to highlight the code.
Thank you.

This is not an Exchange issue. I’m trying to build a command line through a string and then invoke it. The problem is the string is not parsing correctly.

String:

Get-Mailbox -resultsize unlimited | Search-Mailbox -SearchQuery from:" compras@belasartesconvites.com" -TargetMailbox MessageCleaning -TargetFolder Processed -DeleteContent -LogLevel Full

What it tries to invoke.

" -TargetMailbox MessageCleaning -TargetFolder Processed -DeleteContent -LogLevel –forcetes.com

Charles

When you post code, error messages, sample data or console output format it as code, please.