Enabling tab completion for the properties of a custom object

Although I’m not new to PowerShell, I am new to working with modules. In creating my first module, I am trying to get tab completion to work with the properties contained in one of the functions.

Example: Get-MyFunction | Select-Object MyOb[tab key] should result in Get-MyFunctin | Select-Object MyObjectProperty

In the function, I am creating an array to hold data from the pscustomobject. It is the array that is returned by the function.

[System.Collections.ArrayList]$arrMyArray = @()

Next, I loop through the relevant information, adding them to a pscustomobject:

$MyObject = [PSCustomObject]@{
			MyObjectProperty = $strValue1
			MyOtherObjectProperty = $strValue2

It is these properties that I want to enable tab completion.

At the end of each loop, I add the information to the array object:

$arrMyArray.Add($MyObject) | Out-Null

Once all loops are completed, I return the the array:

Return $arrMyArray

Following the information in this post, I was able to get it to work, but even adding this code within my function will cause the properties to appear in the tab completion of all functions in the module that have an OutputType of ‘array’.

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

You’ll need to roll your own class to get tab completion on properties.

Example (PowerShell v5 and later)

class ForumItemData {
    [String] $Name
    [String] $Status
}

function Get-ItemData {

[CmdletBinding()]
    [OutputType('ForumItemData')]
    param ()

$obj = [ForumItemData]::new()
    $obj.Name = 'Testing 123'
    $obj.Status = 'Active'
    $obj
}

Get-ItemData | Select-Object -Property Name, Status

Example (PowerShell v4 and earlier)

Add-Type -TypeDefinition @'
using System;

namespace PowerShellOrg.Forum
{
    public class ItemData
    {
        public string Name { get; set; }
        public string Status { get; set; }
    }
}
'@ -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

function Get-ItemData {