dll to PowerShell

Hi

I have created a C# project in Visual Studio and I am looking at the best way to access this in PowerShell.

I created the project to produce a dll. I can access this fine in visual studio by running:
test.Class1.find(“username”, “password”, “type”, “id”)
but when I import the dll in PowerShell I don’t have access to the find to run the command.

Do I have to change the visual studio project to allow PowerShell access?

Would it be better to write a PowerShell module?

Many thanks
Paul

Hi Paul! Without looking at the code, I assume that the problem may be with access modifiers for your class. In C# if you don’t explicitly define your top class to be public, it is created with internal scope. If it is defined as public, maybe the method is not.

If that doesn’t help, please paste an sample of your code and I’ll take a closer look.

Thanks,
Ivan

Hi Ivan

Many thanks for your reply.

Im new to c# so this could be completely wrong but my code has been set out like this:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Text;
using System.Net;
using System.IO;

namespace test
{
public class Class1
{

public static void find(string username, string password, string type, string id)
    {

//Code here which finished by producing a string.
    }

}
}

Many thanks for your help.

Paul

Looks fine to me. Once you’ve loaded up your DLL (with Add-Type -Path c:\your\dllfile.dll), you should be able to do: [test.Class1]::find($username, $password, $type, $id)

Perfect! I was trying to call the find incorrectly.

One last question - the c# code ends with a Console.WriteLine which appears on screen in PowerShell. is there a way to capture this in PowerShell value? I tried
$test = [test.Class1]::find($username, $password, $type, $id) but this didn’t work.