Disconnected PS-Session

Hello, this is my first time on the forums and if this is something that was already answered i really do apologize.

I’ve been looking into the ps-session functionality for automation of remote tasks and would like to issue commands into a remote-session without waiting for it to complete.

I’ve found that i can use invoke-command with -InDisconnectedSession switch and -ComputerName argument to establish a new session on a remote computer and execute the script asynchronously.

I am wondering how i might go about getting something similar but while reusing an existing session instead, something similar to:

$s = new-pssession ‘server.example.com
disconnect-pssession $s
invoke-command -Session $s { $x = 10; }
invoke-command -Session $s { write-host 'start first command with ’ $x; [System.Threading.Thread]::Sleep(10000); write-host ‘ok, im done’; }
invoke-command -Session $s { write-host 'start second command with ’ $x; [System.Threading.Thread]::Sleep(10000); write-host ‘ok, im done’; }
connect-pssession $s;

This script above doens’t work because i can’t invoke on a disconnect session. I can only find articles on the web about using disconnected sessions when this invoke-command -ComputerName -InDisconnectedSession syntax is used.

I’d like to be able to queue up a couple commands to run against a disconnected session and then connect later to review the outcome. It looks like the only way i could really use connect-pssession at this point is if i lose the session due to a network disruption or terminate it from a second process or something like that.

Is there any realistic examples of using disconnect-pssession and is there any way to do what i want?

Hello,

The PowerShell jobs feature might be worth looking into. You could submit all the commands you want to run on a list of remote server as one script block if you know the commands to execute in advance.

A possible solution could be: