Disable IPv6 if enabled, else do nothing

Hi All,

I am relatively new to PowerShell, just trying to practice automation scripts that would be useful our company. In essence, I want to disable IPv6 if it is enabled, else if it is disabled, do nothing. Either way, it should return a result through Write-Host. I’m not sure where I’m going wrong here. I may have over analyzed this :smiley:

$DisableIPv6 = Disable-NetAdapterBinding -InterfaceAlias "*" -ComponentID ms_tcpip6
$tcpip6 = Get-NetAdapterBinding -Name "*" -ComponentID "*"

if ($tcpip6.ComponentID -eq "ms_tcpip6" -and Get-NetAdapterBinding Enabled -eq "True") {

Write-Host "IPv6 is Enabled"

}
elseif ($tcpip6 -gt 0) {

$DisableIPv6
    Write-Host "IPv6 is enabled"
}

else ($tcpip -eq "ms_tcpip") {

Scott,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

If it is about automation you don’t want to use Write-Host. In fact you actually almost never want to use Write-Host. Here you can read more:

To disable all existing IPv6 bindings on a given computer this should be enough:

Get-NetAdapterBinding -ComponentID 'ms_tcpip6' |
    Where-Object -Property Enabled -EQ -Value $true |
        Disable-NetAdapterBinding

If you want to log the status - maybe before and after your actions you may output the result of the query to a file.

$Path = 'C:\Users\Public\AutomationLogs'
if (-not (Test-Path -Path $Path)) {
    New-Item -Path $Path -ItemType Directory | Out-Null
}

$LogBefore = Join-Path -Path $Path -ChildPath 'IPv6NetAdapterBinding-before.csv'
$logAfter = Join-Path -Path $Path -ChildPath 'IPv6NetAdapterBinding-after.csv'

$IPv6NetAdapterBinding = Get-NetAdapterBinding -ComponentID ms_tcpip6
$IPv6NetAdapterBinding | 
Export-Csv -Path $LogBefore -NoTypeInformation

$IPv6NetAdapterBinding |
    Where-Object -Property Enabled -EQ -Value $true |
        Disable-NetAdapterBinding

$IPv6NetAdapterBinding = Get-NetAdapterBinding -ComponentID ms_tcpip6
$IPv6NetAdapterBinding | 
Export-Csv -Path $logAfter -NoTypeInformation -Force
1 Like