Determining archive attributes of .pdf files

I am trying to build scripts that will allow me to identify files archive bit state, and change the state to either set or clear. I have looked at the “Scripting Guy” posts for Jan 26 and Jan 27, 2011. However, when I use “Get-itemproperty” on one of my files, the attribute returned is “directory” These are all .pdf files. If I look at the file property under Windows, it shows “ready for archiving” box checked. Can’t build the script until I can see the archive state…
Background: I’m a newbie, but have taken both Powershell 3 courses by Jeffry and Jason in Microsoft Virtual Academy, and am partway through “Powershell 3 in a month of lunches.”

That post goes into detail.
Perhaps you can paate your code that you are getting unexpected results from.

$files = Get-ChildItem -Path '\\path\to\files' -Filter *.pdf
foreach ($file in $files){
    If ($file.Attributes -ne 'Archive'){$file.Attributes = 'Archive'}}

I can’t say why one of your files would return the directory bit. But I have done a bit of testing, and to detect if archive bit is set or not on files, you can do something like this:

$Path      = 'C:\TEMP\TEST1'
$Filter    = '*.pdf'
$Attribute = [System.IO.FileAttributes]::Archive

# Get all files in $Path matching $Filter
Get-ChildItem -Path $Path -Filter $Filter -Recurse

# Get all files in $Path matching $Filter where $Attribute is set
Get-ChildItem -Path $Path -Filter $Filter -Recurse | Where-Object { $_.Attributes -band $Attribute }

# Get all files in $Path matching $Filter where $Attribute is NOT set
Get-ChildItem -Path $Path -Filter $Filter -Recurse | Where-Object { ($_.Attributes -band $Attribute) -ne $Attribute }

If you want to modify the bit, you can use this function I put together, to either Enable (Set), Disable (Remove) or Toggle the bit:

function Set-FileAttribute {
    [CmdletBinding()]
    Param(
        [Parameter(Mandatory = $true, ValueFromPipeline = $true)]
        [System.IO.FileInfo[]]