Creating an invalid variable entered prompt?

by justjon at 2013-04-16 04:33:52

Hi all,

I’m very new to PowerShell and have for a long time been scripting simple .bat files etc.

What I want to do is create a loop whereby a variable is being set, and if an incorrect answer is supplied the script will then re-ask the user to enter the variable.

$environment=Read-Host "One or two?

1. One

2. Twp
"

Above is the code I have so far with a simple prompt to set the $environment variable. I’d like it so that if a user enters anything other than 1 or 2 (the numbers), then it responds with "Invalid answer" and re-asks to set the variable.

In BAT this was quite simple to do with a GOTO command, obviously that’s not available anymore and I’m trying to conform to the new mindset of no GOTO’s in scripting!

Many thanks for any help.
by JeffH at 2013-04-16 05:03:45
Here’s one way you could try:

do {
$r = Read-Host "Enter a value [1,2]"
#validation code
if ($r -eq 1 -OR $r -eq 2) {
$ok = $true
}
else {
$ok = $false
}

} until ($ok)

The user would have to press Ctrl-C to break out if they wanted to cancel, at least as I’ve written this snippet.
by justjon at 2013-04-16 05:08:16
that’s perfect, thank you very much! :slight_smile: I could probably add another option (3) to exit if the user wanted to in any event.
by JeffH at 2013-04-16 05:17:18
Absolutely. Add whatever validation code you want. You can also use whatever expression you want in the Until () part, as long as it evaluates as True or False.
by mjolinor at 2013-04-16 05:52:04
Here’s another option:
$GetUserInput =
{
Switch (Read-Host 'Enter One or Two')
{
'One' {Write-Output 'User entered One'}
'Two' {Write-Output 'User entered Two'}
default {
Write-host "Invalid input. Please enter only 'One' or 'Two'" -ForegroundColor Yellow
.$GetUserInput
}
}
}

.$GetUserInput

or you can implement that as a function:

function GetUserInput
{
Switch (Read-Host 'Enter One or Two')
{
'One' {Write-Output 'User entered One'}